Gillett FFA Recognizes Members at Annual Banquet

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

GILLETT – The Gillett FFA hosted the annual banquet on Sunday, May 4 at Gillett Secondary School. Kallie Rank, 2014 Oconto County Fairest of the Fair was the keynote speaker.

Josh Yonker, Gillett FFA Alumni President, gave greetings on behalf of the alumni. He also announced Rachel Ransom and Danielle Timm as the recipients of the Gillett FFA Alumni scholarship.

The following Gillett Elementary third graders were recognized for their participation in the Partners in Active Learning Support (PALS) program: Reese Chapin, Christina Ciancio, Lailana Corona, Laney DeBauch, Habaiah Gigl, Trinitee Gigl, Phillip Heroux, Virgil Herzog, Victoria Phillips, Andrew Rost, Austin Vande Corput, Emma Walker, and Jerald Wetzel. These students met with FFA members each month to learn about all different aspects of agriculture.

The Discovery Degree was bestowed to the following middle school members who have been active and taken an agriculture class: Noah Badeau, Kalea Britton, Jerika Heroux, Brock Herzog, Elizabeth Kahler, Brice Winkler and Alex Young. Evan Rank was named as the recipient of the outstanding Middle School Member Award.

The Greenhand Degree was given to 12 first year high school members: Erin Balthazor, Kassandra Elertson, Tanner Gueller, Savannah Hackey, Casey Hertwig, Taylor Kohls, Morgan Lisowe, Victoria Loberger, Crystal Marohl, Cody Moffat, Madylin Wilbur and Rebecca Wolfe. Morgan Lisowe was recognized as the recipient of the Star Greenhand Award, recognizing her achievement as a first year member.

High school members who have received the Greenhand Degree and continue to go above and beyond in participation were presented with the Chapter Degree. Hailey Brock, Eric Fischer, Thomas Nauke, Marissa Sherman, Jacob Timm and Austin Wright were recognized as Chapter Degree recipients.

The following members were recognized as the top FFA member in their class based on grade point average: Erin Balthazor, Crystal Marohl, Jacob Timm, Rebecca Wolfe, and Danielle Timm.

Gillett FFA members were active in several career development events (CDE) this year. The following members participated in district and/or sectional speaking contests: Abbey Horsens, prepared speaking; Rachel Ransom, job interview and discussion meet; Skhyler Simpson, discussion meet and extemporaneous speaking; Marissa Sherman, job interview; and Justin Engebretsen, Evan Rank and Alex Young, quiz bowl. There were also four teams that competed in additional CDE contests. The dairy cattle evaluation team included Abbey Horsens, Morgan Lisowe, and Rachel Ransom. Skhyler Simpson competed in equine evaluation. Korey Badeau, Eric Fischer and Marissa Sherman competed in the environmental and natural resources competition. The wildlife team consisted of Korey Badeau, Eric Fischer, and Rachel Ransom.

The following students were recognized for their supervised agricultural experience (SAE) programs where they apply what they learn in the classroom to real life experiences and learn how to keep records: Korey Badeau, dairy production; Erin Balthazor, equine science; Hailey Brock, diversified agriculture production; Raymond Brock, poultry; Kassandra Elertson, equine science; Eric Fischer, environmental science; Tanner Gueller, leadership; Savannah Hackey, small animal production and care; Jenna Herzog, dairy production; Abbey Horsens, dairy production; Victoria Loberger, small animal production and care; Thomas Nauke, beef production; Sommer Pawlak, dairy production; Rachel Ransom, agricultural education; Marissa Sherman, agricultural education; Skhyler Simpson, sheep production; Danielle Timm, equine science; Jacob Timm, diversified agricultural production; Madylin Wilbur, dairy production; Rebecca Wolfe, small animal production and care; and Austin Wright, greenhouse management. Raymond Brock, Abbey Horsens, Danielle Timm and Jacob Timm completed an extensive application to submit to the state level. Danielle Timm received a gold rating and will be recognized at the Wisconsin FFA Convention in June.

Raymond Brock was named Top Salesperson. Danielle and Jacob Timm received second place and Evan Rank placed third in fundraising sales that help support the Gillett FFA Chapter and activities.

John and Joan Timm were recognized for their contributions to the Gillett FFA with the Honorary Chapter Degree. They continually go above and beyond giving of their time and energy to help the members.

Abbey Horsens was named the 2014 DeKalb Award Winner. This award is given annually to a senior member that exemplifies agricultural advocacy, hard work and commitment.

The retiring officers consisting of Abbey Horsens, president; Rachel Ransom and Skhyler Simpson, vice presidents; Raymond Brock, secretary; Danielle Timm, treasurer; Jacob Timm, reporter; Korey Badeau and Hailey Brock, sentinels, were thanked for their year of dedication to the chapter.
The 2014-2015 officer team will be led by Jacob Timm, president; Hanna Brock, vice president; Thomas Nauke, secretary; Morgan Lisowe, treasurer; and Evan Rank, reporter.